Home Page
  • Search
  • Translate


Reading and Phonics


We believe that teaching reading at the very start of a pupil's learning journey should be wrapped up in a world of adventure, excitement and joy that only sharing stories and books together can bring.

In order to support our early adventurers to read for themselves, we use phonics as our prime approach to the teaching of reading. We follow the six phases of the Letters and Sounds programme to teach phonics. Phases 1-2 are taught in Foundation 1, Phases 2-4 in Foundation 2, Phases 4-5 in year 1 and Phase 6 is taught in Year 2.


Further information about how phonics is taught can be found here.




The teaching of phonics - information for parents


Reading is taught in foundation stage and lower key stage one through phonics. Children read decodable texts linked to the phase of phonics that they are being taught in class. We primarily use Phonics Bugs and Oxford Reading Tree books. These are book banded for progression.

Children will have opportunities to read every day. This may be through whole class reading, small group reading, independent reading and one to one reading. In order for children to practise and consolidate their reading skills, we also provide opportunities for reading  in our continuous provision. 

Children read regularly to an adult in school. They take home a book banded reading book and 'Recommended read' book every night. We encourage our pupils to change their own reading book when they have read it twice - once to support decoding and once to develop fluency and to deepen their understanding. 

Each year group from Year 1 onwards has a booklet with 50 of the best books to read for their age. These books are to encourage our children to love reading and to help them to engage with a diverse range of authors, genres and topics. 

The recommended reads can be found on each year group class pages.